To the Right

These palm trees don’t sway right
in the wind that doesn’t sting like
Chicago.
I can’t remember if thats where I began.
My spirit came alive where
                                    the air
                                          was salty
                      (and India was salty
                                              to me).
So I assume that’s why we turned left
                                                      and left before mango season…
Or maybe it was to celebrate my birthday
                     (for the twentieth time).

Regardless,
     I have no memory
Of almost everything,
                     (which is fine)
     but I need those elevator doors
     to take me to the seventh floor
                     (that might have been heaven
                     (but it was probably mania)).

         I need to look out on your balcony
                     (that was once our balcony)
            where palms swayed right in the
         wind or blew to the right/the East.
It all blows,
       I blew it,
       I know…

Now they look at me
                        and see someone else,
                                               I can tell
                                     but I can’t tell
                            you who I was,
                                   who I am,
                                   who I want to be.
                                                     “FREE.”
I was all of that but that was not me.

It’s as if reincarnation might
only happen in this life
but I think that would mean
palm trees always sway right.

About Robyn

"If you haven't known insanity, you haven't lived."
This entry was posted in Bipolar Disorder, Life, Recollecting India, Recovery (USA) and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To the Right

  1. lishoy says:

    the seventh floor doors r always open

    Like

  2. adelegenevieve says:

    Love love love love love

    Like

Leave a Reply

